This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.5 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.7
Property location
8.4
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.1
Value
7.8
Reviews
    Vidler
    ca
    5.4
    17 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Teresa
    us
    5.4
    3 February 2018
    Close to airport is a plus. Feel bad for the staff as I blame management for lack of attention.
    Spa was nothing as shown on website - pitiful. Looks rundown around river seating area and where boats are docked. Landscaping needs attention too. Place was nearly empty and still got a room with no view of river.
    Food was good.
    Jurga
    lt
    9.6
    2 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    6.2
    1 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Janice
    us
    9.6
    27 January 2018
    A very pleasant place to spend a night with a short ride to the airport.
    The restaurant was a bit expensive, especially if you don’t have a car.
    The staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
    catherine
    ca
    10
    6 January 2018
    Great hotel for our first night in Belize
    We stayed at the Black Orchid for our first night in Belize. It is close to the Baboon Sanctuary and the airport. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pool area was nice. We also enjoyed the breakfast.
    Sid
    ca
    10
    29 December 2017
    Short distance from the airport, 15 min. Nice break in a long flight and drive.
    NA
    Wonderful staff and helpful.
    Ellie
    gb
    8.3
    7 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Linda
    gb
    10
    7 December 2017
    There is nothing nearby and the taxi fares seemed very expensive.
    It was a really nice place to stay and the setting next to the river is beautiful. The food that we had there was delicious but a bit on the expensive side. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable.
    BTJ
    gb
    8.8
    24 August 2017
    Birds, butterflies, toads and iguanas - a totally immersive experience.
    Its a pity that the breakfast area isn't air conditioned - but the fans worked OK
    The location is a great base for tours. Highlight was sitting in the pool one evening listening to howler monkeys, bird song and overlooking the river. Staff were really helpful in organising tours. These are fairly pricey - but worth it. The room (2 double beds) was plenty big enough for our family of 3 and spotless. Wifi good. They also arranged transfer to our next resort which was helpful.
    Ken
    bz
    10
    30 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marcia
    bz
    10
    7 June 2017
    Had a great time.
    Free breakfast was fantastic. The pool is great and there are kayaks available to go down the river.
    Mark
    gb
    6.7
    6 June 2017
    Nice room but very expensive for what you got
    M E A L S - F O O D -
    Breakfast was poor - never any real choice just eggs if any left horrible fried potatoes and local fruit - toast poor selection of conserves and when they were gone that was it no more which was frustrating when breakfast was included in the price 🤔 lunch menu and dinner menu was limited but poor generally always served luke warm
    Emily
    ca
    10
    4 June 2017
    Stunning resort
    Beautiful views, superb service, amazing alternative to Belize City for your last few nights in the country - close to airport with a shuttle included. 10/10 would return !
    JAYNE
    gb
    7.9
    31 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sebastien
    ca
    3.8
    21 May 2017
    The food was expensive and not so good. The hospitality at the entrance was really bad. The hotels tour are too expensive. The site needs a big clean up and major renovations.
    Proximity of the airport. The guide from the hotel and the car driver from the hotel were nice and polite
    Elizabeth
    ca
    8.3
    17 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kim
    ca
    7.1
    1 February 2017
    Beautiful spot but a few things to be desired
    Trucks used engine brakes regularly so traffic noise was quite loud. Even though main roads were farther away the sound really carried. Breakfast was 7-10am but by 915am only 1 bowl and 1 coffee cup remained (had to ask for more), no fruit left (had to ask for more but when they brought the watermelon it was already fermenting!), asked for replacement fruit but noone ever brought any, had to ask for more of everything basically. Price of dinners were outrageous!
    Setting, facilities, staff, proximity to airport, free shuttle, views, cleanliness, were all wonderful!!
    fr
    7.5
    31 January 2017
    Scenery is what makes it
    Booked for river view and on arrival was given parking view, upgraded to a suite but I did not need the extra space would have preferred the view.
    Beautiful river scenery, could spend hours just contemplating birds there. Rooms comfortable but not hugely more than cheaper rooms I stayed at elsewhere in the country, 200$ is excessive I thought it would be exceptional. Tours very pricy for solo travellers and impossible to access sites by public transport so have to use them. That said the guide Walter was very knowledgeable and kind so I would recommend.
    Andrew
    us
    8.3
    13 January 2017
    Pleasant setting, nice rooms, but overpriced
    breakfast was very disappointing; the AM staff were not too friendly; rates somewhat high for what's offered
    very friendly welcome; peaceful setting along the river; large, comfortable room
Loading reviews