This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.6 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.8
Property location
8.4
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.0
Value
7.8
Reviews
    Ellie
    gb
    8.3
    7 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Linda
    gb
    10
    7 December 2017
    There is nothing nearby and the taxi fares seemed very expensive.
    It was a really nice place to stay and the setting next to the river is beautiful. The food that we had there was delicious but a bit on the expensive side. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable.
    BTJ
    gb
    8.8
    24 August 2017
    Birds, butterflies, toads and iguanas - a totally immersive experience.
    Its a pity that the breakfast area isn't air conditioned - but the fans worked OK
    The location is a great base for tours. Highlight was sitting in the pool one evening listening to howler monkeys, bird song and overlooking the river. Staff were really helpful in organising tours. These are fairly pricey - but worth it. The room (2 double beds) was plenty big enough for our family of 3 and spotless. Wifi good. They also arranged transfer to our next resort which was helpful.
    Ken
    bz
    10
    30 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marcia
    bz
    10
    7 June 2017
    Had a great time.
    Free breakfast was fantastic. The pool is great and there are kayaks available to go down the river.
    Mark
    gb
    6.7
    6 June 2017
    Nice room but very expensive for what you got
    M E A L S - F O O D -
    Breakfast was poor - never any real choice just eggs if any left horrible fried potatoes and local fruit - toast poor selection of conserves and when they were gone that was it no more which was frustrating when breakfast was included in the price 🤔 lunch menu and dinner menu was limited but poor generally always served luke warm
    Emily
    ca
    10
    4 June 2017
    Stunning resort
    Beautiful views, superb service, amazing alternative to Belize City for your last few nights in the country - close to airport with a shuttle included. 10/10 would return !
    JAYNE
    gb
    7.9
    31 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sebastien
    ca
    3.8
    21 May 2017
    The food was expensive and not so good. The hospitality at the entrance was really bad. The hotels tour are too expensive. The site needs a big clean up and major renovations.
    Proximity of the airport. The guide from the hotel and the car driver from the hotel were nice and polite
    Elizabeth
    ca
    8.3
    17 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kim
    ca
    7.1
    1 February 2017
    Beautiful spot but a few things to be desired
    Trucks used engine brakes regularly so traffic noise was quite loud. Even though main roads were farther away the sound really carried. Breakfast was 7-10am but by 915am only 1 bowl and 1 coffee cup remained (had to ask for more), no fruit left (had to ask for more but when they brought the watermelon it was already fermenting!), asked for replacement fruit but noone ever brought any, had to ask for more of everything basically. Price of dinners were outrageous!
    Setting, facilities, staff, proximity to airport, free shuttle, views, cleanliness, were all wonderful!!
    fr
    7.5
    31 January 2017
    Scenery is what makes it
    Booked for river view and on arrival was given parking view, upgraded to a suite but I did not need the extra space would have preferred the view.
    Beautiful river scenery, could spend hours just contemplating birds there. Rooms comfortable but not hugely more than cheaper rooms I stayed at elsewhere in the country, 200$ is excessive I thought it would be exceptional. Tours very pricy for solo travellers and impossible to access sites by public transport so have to use them. That said the guide Walter was very knowledgeable and kind so I would recommend.
    Andrew
    us
    8.3
    13 January 2017
    Pleasant setting, nice rooms, but overpriced
    breakfast was very disappointing; the AM staff were not too friendly; rates somewhat high for what's offered
    very friendly welcome; peaceful setting along the river; large, comfortable room
    Lynn
    us
    9.2
    27 November 2016
    Enjoyed our week long stay
    Staff was great. Very service oriented, helped with arranging tours, which when possible were private tours by their own tour guides and much less than viator. High level knowledge and arrangements. All staff were great.
    Alina
    ca
    7.9
    14 November 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Graeme
    nz
    8.8
    4 October 2016
    Loved our peaceful stay at the Black Orchid, the staff are brilliant and so helpful.
    Prices should always be quoted with tax included ... this was inexperience on our part for not always asking beforehand. We thought the trip to the howler monkeys was expensive at $78 Bz each person, but actually was good value when we got there and found that we really needed the Black Orchid connection to make sure Robert was available as a guide. His expert knowledge and friendly manner made the trip. Howler monkey family up close.
    Great free shuttle service pickup from airport. Shuttle also needed for local travel and going to and from Belize city water taxi depot. Readily available and cheaper and faster and nicer than a taxi. Walter and Stephen were excellent drivers full of information ... VERY knowledgeable. Food very good, service excellent. Lovely location, very quiet/tranquil during the off season (weather was fantastic!). The nearby howler monkeys were a must see, ask for Robert the guide from the Conservation Centre. Howler monkeys also heard across the river from the Black Orchid. Ask for the Belizean lunch off the menu.... the rice and beans and wonderfully spiced chicken were awesome!
    Keith
    gb
    8.8
    2 September 2016
    Value for money
    The food was a tad expensive, although it was a great standard. Although minor, we also would have liked a kettle in our room to make hot drinks.
    Upon arrival, we were made to feel welcome and at ease,and throughout the rest of our stay the staff were always happy & friendly. Moreover, the room was comfortable and clean.
    Rosanna
    it
    3.3
    28 August 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    at
    7.9
    15 August 2016
    Good location before departing
    Due to lack of an alternative, we were compelled to eat in the very expensive restaurant - by far the most expensive of our Belize stay. Not easy to access by public transportation!
    Nice rooms and welcoming staff. Bicycles for free.Location near the river. Free airport shuttle.
    Karen Mills
    gb
    9.6
    12 August 2016
    Location is a bit out of the way but very convenient for the airport. Free transfer included.
    Lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble. Clean and comfortable.
Loading reviews